Cosmos: Old School (1999) – part thirteen

Part of the annual duties of any comic strip is the inevitable Christmas / Season’s Greetings / Happy Holidays series, wherein the characters get all festive and do any number of, erm, festive-related things. Cosmos certainly adheres to this tradition; and whether through comic strips, greeting card art or other artistic scribblings, I try to put some sort of Cosmos / Christmas mash-up together every year. This is part one of a two-part exploration of Cosmos’ first Christmas – part two comes tomorrow, as one would expect – wherein the now fully-established main cast get up to all sorts of yuletide tomfoolery….

ch99-7
This is the original inked artwork for a pair of Christmas cards I did for friends and family in 1999 – both were then coloured in and photocopied the requisite number of times so there were enough to go around….. But unfortunately, I don’t seem to have kept a colour version of the one on the right for myself, which is a common factor with many cards I’ve done for people in the past – how many I never preserved for posterity, I have no idea.

ch99-3
Top: it’s my very first ever filksong! Whether I knew it or not, creating song parodies was going to become an important part of my work over time, as I got more into parody and satire in various projects….
Bottom: a good example of a comic that works perfectly well without extraneous dialogue or further explanation – everything you need to know is in Artie’s body language, actions and reactions to the situation at hand. If I’d added any extra ‘clues’ to the story (as one person I showed it to seemed to think it needed – the only one who didn’t immediately burst out laughing upon reaching panel four, by the way), it would have turned into a clunky, overworked mess.

ch99-4
Top and bottom: two further examples of ‘dialogue-light’ strips – interestingly, I seem to have drawn up (or, at the very least, come up with the ideas for) these first four strips in late November; judging by the dates on them. Gene is in fine form once again, displaying perhaps rather more of a greedy side to his personality than he might like to show these days…. I’m not sure who the Type-One Cosmosian discovering Ax’s spending problem in the second strip is – perhaps Artie’s unnamed friend from earlier in the year?

TO BE CONTINUED….

Leave a Reply

